Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Hong Kong in Transition: Export, Import and Tax/Currency Implication of Status Change under U.S. Law

September 30 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Presented by WIT-NC and Professional Association of Exporters and Importers (PAEI)

Network with other members of our trade professional community, wind down after work with a glass of wine in the U.S., or get your day started with coffee in Singapore, and learn something new!

 

Networking begins at 6:00pm PDT (9:00am SGT),
Program begins at 6:30pm PDT (9:30am SGT),
More Networking at 7:45pm PDT (10:45am SGT)

Hong Kong in Transition:
Export, Import and Tax/Currency Implications of Hong Kong’s Changed Status under U.S. Law

In response to recent events in Hong Kong, the United States has triggered significant changes to the treatment of Hong Kong under U.S. law. These changes affect U.S. export control authorization requirements, as well as import procedures, duties, taxes, and currency exchange. In anticipation of likely disruption of operations in Hong Kong and further escalation of sanctions, businesses need to develop contingency plans.  This session will discuss different possible scenarios and compare trade regimes in other Asia Pacific jurisdictions that may be alternatives to Hong Kong.

This webinar will feature the following international trade practitioners:


Eugene LimEugene Lim, Co-Founder and Principal, WTS Taxise, Singapore

Eugene Lim is an international trade and tax lawyer who works extensively in the Asia Pacific region. He is a founding Principal of Taxise Asia LLC (“WTS Taxise”). He has extensive experience relating to the structuring of supply chain and distribution strategies in the Asia Pacific region as well as in international tax and trade matters.  He has advised numerous Silicon Valley companies on trade issues in Asia.

Previously, Eugene was based in Hong Kong and China for 11 years before moving to Singapore in 2014 to head the Singapore Tax, Trade and Wealth Management practice in one of the largest international law firms.

 

Dan Fisher-OwensDan Fisher-Owens, Partner, Berliner Corcoran & Rowe LLP, San Francisco

Dan Fisher-Owns focuses on export controls and economic sanctions matters.  He has practiced in Washington, DC and Silicon Valley for over twenty years, focusing on controls affecting the semiconductor, telecommunications, and computing industries, with clients on both sides of the Pacific.

Registration is required

Payment In Full In Advance Only
Registration cancellations will be accepted until Monday, September 28, 2020 at 5:00 PM
Cancellation Policy: Requests must be received, in writing, by 5 pm, the Monday prior to the event. If not received timely, registrant will remain responsible for payment.

 

Non-Member of either organization

US$ 40.00
No Fee
No Fee

Details

Date:
September 30
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm